Arlington MA’s 1st Annual CSA Share Fair A Success!

Overhead view of crowd at CSA Farm Share

Step Right Up! Get Your Veggies Here!

Around the middle of February, I wrote a post (see below) about “being green” by buying and eating locally-grown food.  I also mentioned the Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) Share Fair to be held on February 25th in Arlington, MA.  Well, as Mother Nature would have it, both my post and the CSA Share Fair in Arlington were big successes!

It was a dark and stormy night on February 25th when I ventured out to attend the CSA Share Fair.  I was thinking at the time what a shame it was to have such bad weather on a night hosting such a great event.  Admittedly, my heart also sank a bit when I found parking right out front of the main entrance.  That doesn’t usually bode well for a large turnout…as I said, “usually.”..

As I walked in the front door, I was cheerfully greeted by a man keeping count of the number of attendees coming in.  Looking at me as I shook out my umbrella, he said in a robust, cheerful voice, “200”!  I was surprised and had to clarify with him that I was the 200th person to come through the doors.  With an hour to go, I was visitor number 200, and more were following in behind me!

People checking out information at a vendor table

So many choices!

While it was great to see such a tremendous and enthusiastic turnout, I was a bit bummed that I wasn’t able to meet personally with any of the farmers.  There were crowds at every table and people signing up for CSA shares like you wouldn’t believe.  It almost felt like being on the floor of the stock exchange; instead, this was the floor of the CSA exchange – with people bustling all around to find the perfect farm share to suit their needs and lifestyles. After all the dust settled, there were over 250 attendees at the Fair. This being the first one ever held in Arlington, you can rest assured it will become an annual event. If you’d like to see more pictures from the event, browse to the CSA Share Fair‘s web site.

Couldn’t attend the Fair that night? Not to worry! You don’t need to attend a CSA Share Fair in order to sign up for a share. There are still plenty of options available for the coming harvest season. To find a listing of local farms in the Arlington, MA and surrounding areas that participate in CSA, check the LocalHarvest.org web site for the ones closest to you. Many of the farms also have centralized drop-off points throughout the Boston and surrounding areas, so you don’t even need to trek out to the ‘burbs to pick up your bounty every week!

The Local Harvest web site has a wealth of information pertaining to CSA’s. If you’re new to this concept, you might want to check out Local Harvest’s tips and a recommended list of questions you should ask your farmer as your first step toward achieving food independence.

Until next time, Peace!

-TMC

2 responses to this post.

  1. Great post Tim. Lots of good information for readers and the fair sounded great. I did go to one of those several years ago – which is how I was introduced to CSA.

    Reply

    • Thanks for taking the time to reply, Tammy! I’d be interested in hearing about your experience with CSA. Are you still doing it? I haven’t signed up myself, but would like to do so in the future.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

